The ACM Awards honor outstanding individuals for their contributions to the field of community media. Nominees are considered by the Alliance for Community Media's Awards Committee and approved by the Board of Directors. Awardees are recognized at the Alliance for Community Media's Annual Conference.  
  What's the difference between ACM's Awards and the Hometown Media Awards?

The Hometown Media Awards is an annual awards program benefitting the Foundation of the Alliance for Community Media. Established to honor and promote community media and local cable programs that are distributed on Public, Educational and Government (PEG) access channels. Hometown Media Awards honor specific media projects that have been telecast or streamed in the prior year. Entries are evaluated by a team of qualified judges and recognized at the Hometown Media Awards Celebration at the Annual Conference. This is the homepage for the ACM awards. (Click here for Hometown Media Awards)


Click on each title below for more information, including past winners.

Emerging Leader Award*

The Emerging Leader Award recognizes a professional, under 40 years of age, working in the field of community media, who demonstrates the values of building community through media on a consistent basis.  The individual demonstrates leadership in the field on a local, regional or national level. The award recognizes the individual for being a person who is innovative in their work to strengthen the impact of community media.

*Nominee must be an ACM member to qualify

The Dirk Koning - George Stoney Award for Humanistic Communication

This award is given annually to an organization or individual who has made an outstanding contribution to championing the growth and experience of humanistic community communications.

Sue Miller Buske Leadership Award*

This award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated commitment to the mission and goals of the Alliance for Community Media, leadership within the organization within the last three years, a high degree of involvement in the organization nationally, regionally and at the chapter level, and continuing service to the ACM.

*Nominee must be an ACM member to qualify

The Jewell Ryan-White Award for Cultural Diversity

This award is given annually to those persons who show an outstanding contribution to a process that encourages, facilitates, or creates culturally diverse and/or non-mainstream community involvement in the field of community media.

The Special Recognition Award

Special Recognition is not a category to request nominations/submissions from membership.  It is used infrequently; only when the committee has someone or a group that they feel should be recognized with this award. This award is presented to recognize outstanding contributions to the community media industry.