Emerging Leader Award

The Emerging Leader Award recognizes a professional, under 40 years of age, working in the field of community media, who demonstrates the values of building community through media on a consistent basis.  The individual demonstrates leadership in the field on a local, regional or national level. The award recognizes the individual for being a person who is innovative in their work to strengthen the impact of community media.

The nominee must be an ACM member to qualify for this award.

2020 Winner: MATT SULLIVAN, Larchmont Mamaroneck Community Television

Matt Sullivan started his career at the very place where he currently serves as Executive Director.  From his early days at Larchmont Mamaroneck Community Television (LMCTV), he was drawn to storytelling.  His passion for the art of film and media led him to Emerson College in Boston, where he majored in Visual Arts. Taking advantage of the school's placement programs he spent semesters in the Netherlands and Los Angeles. During his time at Emerson, Matt worked on over 40 student films, doing everything from assistant camera, to producer, to director. As a student, Matt produced "The Fabulous Felix McCabe," which was nominated that year for an MTV Movie Award. 

During his last semester at Emerson College, Matt interned for @Radical Media, personally doing script coverage for director Dave Meyers. After graduating Emerson College, Matt moved to Los Angeles where he started work on the game show "Deal or no Deal."
He worked on several different reality TV shows until 2007, when he became Production Coordinator on the CW Network's "Kamen Rider: Dragon Knight." It was here that Matt learned the many facets of pre-production, production, and post-production. Wanting to explore more of his artistic side, Matt changed gears in 2008 and started working in the art department on Fox's hit show "24" with Kiefer Sutherland. It was a goal and dream to work on the show, as Matt was both a fan and in awe of the show's hard edge, seat gripping action and suspense. The seventh season of the award-winning show saw Matt working under production designer Joseph Hodges. After finishing the season, Matt went on to work in the art departments of several other award-winning shows including Fox's "House" and ABC's "Castle."

In 2011, Matt moved back to New York and started fresh, taking a job at LMCTV as the Community and Government Production Coordinator.  Over the next several years, Matt moved up in the company taking the job of Assistant Director and then Chief Operating Officer.  In April of 2018, he took over the position of Executive Director.  Throughout those years, he produced and directed "Sobrevivo," a short film that won "Best Zombie Film" at the NY Scary Movie Awards. Shortly after, Matt wrote, directed, and produced "The Attic," which had a successful film festival run as well. His current film "Dead Air," is in a successful festival run with official selections worldwide.  The film is currently in feature length development.  Matt currently serves with honor on both the NY Chapter of the Alliance for Community Media and the Alliance for Community Media Northeast Region Board.  He is a proud member of the Larchmont Mamaroneck Lions Club and the Sound Shore Saint Patrick’s Day Parade Committee.  

List of Winners by Year

2020 - Matt Sullivan, Larchmont Mamaroneck Community Television
2019 - Seth Ring, MetroEast Community Media
2018 - Melinda Garfield, Westwood Media Center and MassAccess
2017 - Andrea Capere, Thurston Community Media
2017 - Erica Jones, Somerville Media Center