Dirk Koning-George Stoney Humanistic Communication Award

The Dirk Koning – George Stoney Humanistic Communication Award is given annually to an organization or individual who has made an outstanding contribution to championing the growth and experience of humanistic community communications.

2020 Winner: Alan bushong

 Alan Bushong is the Executive Director of Capital Community Television (CCTV), a Public, Education and Government Access non-profit organization in Salem, Oregon. He began his career working for Austin Community Television for eleven years, the last three as Executive Director. In 1989, the CCTV Board hired Alan to start CCTV and to bring TV to Salem, the largest state capital in the nation with no local broadcast TV station. Since that time, CCTV has taught media skills to several thousand people and has produced more than 10,000 programs. CCTV’s most watched program, the 2017 live total solar eclipse, had nearly 60,000 YouTube and Facebook views. 

In 2008 CCTV moved from the Salem Public Library to its 11,000 square foot Trade Street media center, adding a second studio and enabling members of the community to produce a wider variety of programs for TV and the internet. CCTV operates two production trucks to cover community events. CCTV assists fellow non-profit organizations by providing coverage of their services. CCTV will fully launch a full power FM radio station later this year in a multimedia wing that also serves as a Joint Information Center for local governments to plan and distribute emergency information. 

Alan served 20 years on the Alliance for Community Media National Board. While Board Chair, the Alliance accomplished a rare overturning of a federal law at the Supreme Court, eliminating a law that would have allowed cable company editorial control over community TV channels. 

In Salem, he serves as President of Friends of Music, a group that advocates for music and arts education in public schools. He also serves on the Salem-Kawagoe (Japan) and Salem-Gimhae (Korea) Sister City Boards. His wife Jacinta is retired from the Judson Middle School Library and his daughter Erica works for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) in Denver. They have a very lazy orange tabby cat named Ray and a dog named Annie. 

Previous Winners

2020 - Alan Bushong
2019 - Open Media Foundation
2018 - Curtis Henderson, Jr.
2017 - jesikah maria ross, Capital Public Radio
2016 – Ed Markey, U.S. Senate
2015 – Adrianne Furniss, Benton Foundation
2014 – Suzanne St. John-Crane, CreaTV San Jose
2013 – David C. Olson
2012 – Prometheus Radio Project
2011 – Susan Fleischmann, CCTV
2010 – Barbara Popovic
2009 – Randy VanDalsen
2008 – Margie Nicholson
2007 – Lauren-Glenn Davitian
2006 – Sam Behrend
2005 – Reclaim the Media, and Fred Cohn
2004 – Homer Baldwin, WCTV, Wadsworth, OH
Amy Goodman, “Democracy Now!”
2003 – Wanda Baer
2002 – The City of McMinnville, Oregon
2001 – The City of Brunswick, Ohio and Brunswick Township, Ohio
2000 – Dirk Koning, Grand Rapids (MI) Community Media Center
1999 – Sheriff B.J. Barnes
1998 – Anthony Riddle and Paula Manley
1997 – Eric Barnou
1996 – Shea & Gardner
1995 – Tremeleau County Cable Commission
1994 – Alan Dachman
1993 – Joe Van Eaton and Bob Devine
1992 – Herb Schiller
1991 – Dee Dee Halleck
1990 – The Benton Foundation
1989 – Alternative views, Austin, TX
1988 – Michael Myerson
1987 – Tom Borrup
1986 – Eugene Shirk, Mayor of Reading, PA
1985 – Nicholas Johnson
1984 – Roxie Cole
1983 – Diana Peck
1982 – Reverend Everett Parker
1981 – Jean Rice
1980 – Sue Miller Buske