2017 ACM Award Winners Announced

ACM Recognizes Excellence in the Community Media Industry

June 5, 2017

The Alliance for Community Media (ACM) and the Foundation of the Alliance for Community Media (F/ACM) announce twelve recipients for seven awards and scholarships. The awards and scholarships will be presented to the winners during the ACM’s 2017 Annual Conference, July 12 – 14 in Minneapolis.

The 2017 award and scholarship recipients are:

Senator Tammy Baldwin, Wisconsin U.S. Senator – Special Recognition Award

As a member of the Dane County Board of Supervisors, Wisconsin State Assembly, the House of Representatives and then the Senate, Senator Baldwin has been a champion of community media. The ACM would like to recognize her career-long commitment to the preservation and growth of community-based media on a state and national level.

Andrea Capere, Thurston Community Media – The Emerging Leader Award

Andrea Capere currently serves as the Director of Community Relations at Thurston Community Media in Olympia, WA, and as the ACM Northwest Region Board Chair. In her career as a community media advocate and independent filmmaker, Andrea has demonstrated her commitment to building community through media.

Erica Jones, Somerville Media Center – The Emerging Leader Award

In her roles as the Outreach Director of Somerville Media Center in Somerville, MA and as the Board Vice-Chair of the ACM Northeast Region, Erica Jones has worked to expand outreach opportunities beyond the media center, broadening its role and deepening its value to the community.

Ross Rowe, Elk Grove Village / EGTV – The Buske Leadership Award

Ross Rowe currently serves as the Multimedia Production Coordinator for Elk Grove Television – EGTV in Elk Grove Village, IL and as the Board Vice Chair of the Midwest Region. His unwavering commitment, extensive background in community media – dating back to his first conference in 1980 – and open, authentic leadership style make him a valuable resource for our industry and community.

jesikah maria ross, Capital Public Radio – The Dirk Koning – George Stoney Award for Humanistic Communication

jesikah maria ross is a media artist who is changing how we collect, tell and share the stories of our communities. jesikah is currently the Senior Community Engagement Strategist at Capital Public Radio, where she is inventing new models for community engaged journalism.  Over her 25 years of working with large institutions, community organizations and independent media makers around the globe, jesikah has proven her commitment to making media work for everyone.

T-Time in Olympia (Presented to producers Staci Layton, Amy Layton, Lucas Miller, and Melissa Miller) – The Jewell Ryan-White Award for Cultural Diversity

T-Time in Olympia is a low-pressure, accessible information source for those who are new to the changing cultural vernacular regarding gender and sexuality. T-Time in Olympia focuses on open, honest conversations with medical experts, professionals, activists, community groups, and individuals on a variety of topics that impact the greater LGTBQ+ community.

Rachael Chatel, Keene State College – Brian Wilson Scholarship

Rachael Chatel is an elementary education and psychology major at Keene State College. As a member and the historian of the Delta Xi Phi Multicultural Sorority, she has documented and participated in fundraising, community service and multicultural awareness projects. Her experiences have motivated her to use media to create connections in her future career as a teacher.

Ben Weddell, BCAC.tv – Grassroots Scholarship

Ben Weddell is fueled with passion for BCAC.tv, a young station he helps operate. Weddell plans to engage in discussions of new ideas and possibilities at the 2017 Annual Conference. The knowledge he gains from his participation will help accelerate his station’s development to better serve its community. Read Ben’s Testimonial

Pam Haessly, Novato Community Television-NCTV – Grassroots Scholarship

Pam Haessly is the Executive Director of Novato Community Television. Haessly has worked diligently to get her station back on its feet after unfortunate circumstances prompted the station to rebuild from the ground up in 2013. Haessly’s pride and passion of her station reflects its bright future.