2015 ACM Scholarship & Award Winners

May 27, 2015

Congratulations to the 2015 ACM Awards Winners and the 2015 Brian Wilson Scholarship Recipient!

The ACM Awards Committee has selected the winners of the 2015 ACM Awards and the recipient of the 2015 Brian Wilson Scholarship! We are proud to announce the following as recipients of these prestigious awards:

The Buske Leadership Award: John Hauser, Access Humboldt, Eureka, CA

The Buske Leadership Award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated commitment to the mission and goals of the Alliance for Community Media, leadership within the organization within the last three years, a high degree of involvement in the organization nationally, regionally and at the chapter level, and continuing service to the ACM.

The Dirk Koning-George Stoney Award: Charles Benton and The Benton Foundation 

The Dirk Koning – George Stoney Award is given annually to an organization or individual who has made an outstanding contribution to championing the growth and experience of humanistic community communications.

The Jewell Ryan-White Cultural Diversity Award:  Jennifer Dynes, MetroEast Community Media, Gresham, OR

The Jewell Ryan-White Award for Cultural Diversity is given annually to those persons who show an outstanding contribution to a process that encourages, facilitates, or creates culturally diverse and/or non-mainstream community involvement in the field of community media.   

The Brian Wilson Scholarship: Kelsey Christensen, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN

The Brian Wilson Scholarship of $1,000 is offered annually by the Alliance for Community Media to promote the values of former Board of Directors Chair Brian Wilson by providing financial support to an individual currently enrolled in an undergraduate or graduate degree granting program in media arts, broadcast journalism, community & public service, government administration, public education administration or teaching.

The awards and scholarship recipients will be honored and presented with their awards at the ACM Annual Conference in Pasadena, CA during the Awards Luncheon on Friday, August 14, 2015 at the Hilton Pasadena Hotel.