7,000 Letters to Congress Disapproving FCC's Proposed Rule Changes 

March 25, 2019

ACM Board of Directors Webinar on April 24th 

The ACM Board of Directors is made of appointed and elected members to ensure that we represent the broad interests of community media operations throughout the United States and the membership we serve.  Our Board include folks from many geographic areas and with many different backgrounds of experience.

ACM will be electing three members of the Board later this summer and will open up nominations for elections in early May.  If you want more information about Board service, or about other ACM volunteer opportunities, we'll be hosting a webinar on Wednesday, April 24th at 3:00pm ET.  Registration for the call will open shortly.

7,000 Letters to Congress Disapproving FCC's Proposed Rule Changes  

To date, we have almost 7,000 letters to Congress asking members to express their concern or disapproval of the FCC's proposed rules changes for so-called "in-kind" support.  As of last week, four more House members sent letters to the FCC (Rep. Trahan, Pressley and Clark of Massachusetts and Rep. Pappas of New Hampshire).  That's 13 US Senators and 16 Representatives who've sent letters so far:

US Senate
Tammy Baldwin (WI)
Richard Blumenthal (CT)
Ben Cardin (MD)
Maggie Hassan (NH)
Masie Hirono (HI)
Patrick Leahy (VT)
Edward Markey (MA)
Jeff Merkely (OR)
Gary Peters (MI)
Bernie Sanders (VT)
Jeanne Shaheen (NH)
Elizabeth Warren (MA)
Ron Wyden (OR)

US House of Representatives
Katherine Clark (MA)
Elliot Engel (NY)
Anna Eshoo (CA)
Tulsi Gabbard (HI)
William Keating (MA)
Joseph Kennedy III (MA)
Stephen Lynch (MA)
James McGovern (MA)
Gwen Moore (WI)
Richard Neal (MA)
Chris Pappas (NH)
Chellie Pingree (ME)
Ayanna Pressley (MA)
Mark Pocan (WI)
Lori Trahan (MA)
Peter Welch (VT)

If you do NOT see your members of Congress in this list, please contact them asking that they express their concern about what the FCC could do to PEG in your state.  And please keep promoting the letter generator.

If you need assistance or support reaching out to your Congress members, let me know!

Welcome New Organizational Members 

I also want to extend a welcome to organizational members who've joined ACM in the past month:

Berkeley Community Media, Berkeley, CA
Burlington Cable Access Television, Burlington, MA
City of Chino Hills, Chino Hills, CA
Falls Area Community TV, Bellows Falls, VT
JTV, Jackson, MI
Pepperell Community Media, Pepperell, MA
Thank you for being a part of the Alliance for Community Media!

Mike Wassenaar
President & CEO
The Alliance for Community Media