Alliance for Community Media Announces Michael Wassenaar as Recipient of the Buske Leadership Award

(McLean, VA, June 18, 2012) –  The Alliance for Community Media (ACM) is pleased to announce that Michael Wassenaar has been selected as the recipient of the Buske Leadership Award.  The Award will be presented on August 1, 2012 during the ACM National Conference in Chicago.

The Buske Leadership Award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated commitment to the mission and goals of the Alliance for Community Media, leadership within the organization within the last three years, a high degree of involvement in the organization nationally, regionally and at the chapter level, and continuing service to the ACM.

“We are thrilled to present Mike with the Buske Leadership Award,” said Sylvia Strobel, ACM Executive Director.  “Mike’s passion and tireless leadership to the ACM is an inspiration to us all.”

Mr. Wassenaar is Executive Director of Saint Paul Neighborhood Network in Saint Paul, MN.   He has served at the community media center since 2000.  Since 2004, he has worked as a lead partner in the Community Technology Empowerment Project, an AmeriCorps program promoting digital literacy in the Twin Cities.

He is a past National Chair of the ACM Board of Directors, and has made presentations for the National Alliance for Media Arts and Culture and the National Association of Telecommunications Officers and Advisers. Mr. Wassenaar has worked in community television and community and public radio for over thirty years, both in Minneapolis-Saint Paul and in Madison, WI.    He has a Masters in Communication Arts from the University of Wisconsin, where he studied telecommunications and film history, and a Bachelors of English from the University of Minnesota, where he graduated Phi Beta Kappa.