Latest News

2018 Scholarship Winners

The Alliance for Community Media (ACM) and the Foundation of the Alliance for Community Media (F/ACM) announce four recipients of their scholarships.

Brian Wilson Scholarship

The Brian Wilson Scholarship is an annual offer to provide $1,000 in college financial assistance by the Alliance for Community Media, promoting the values of former Board of Directors Chair Brian Wilson.

2018 Winner: Louie Gasper

Louie is a nineteen year old sophomore at The Evergreen State College based out of Olympia, Washington and has been involved with the Alliance for Community Media Northwest Region as a member and conference panelist. Originally, he started volunteering at thirteen years old, as an advocate for foster youth which has inspired him to get involved with community media to elevate the untold stories of his community. He is currently studying communications and social entrepreneurship through organizational strategic planning. Louie has worked as the Director of Promotions & Outreach for KAOS Community Radio, currently works as a News Features Writing Fellow for his college, and aspires to have an internship in DC with the Obama Foundation and National Public Radio in 2019. His eventual goal is to create an organization “Promoting Sounds”, that would be dedicated to advancing independent artistry and promoting independent projects in news and media.

Grassroots Scholarship

The F/ACM offers Grassroots Scholarships for ACM members who could benefit from professional development opportunities gained by attending the ACM Annual Conference.

2018 Winner: Rosemary Bradley, DATV (Dayton Public Access Television, Inc.), Dayton, OH

2018 Winner: Heather Rigby, Valley Media Works/Chippewa Valley Community Television, Chippewa, WI