Hometown Media Awards


The Hometown Media Awards is the ACM’s yearly awards program. It is established to honor and promote community media and local cable programs that are distributed on Public, Educational and Governmental (PEG) access cable television channels.

29909204163_06dfeb9f49_mEach year thousands of entries are submitted. These entries, or programs, are both submitted and evaluated on several factors resulting in over 150+ award winners. A panel of judges  evaluates the entries from the industry. Awards are presented to the most creative programs that address community needs, develop diverse community involvement, challenge conventional commercial television formats and move viewers to experience television in a different way.

The Hometown Media Awards Celebration is the award presentation for winners. The award is a beautiful plaque personalized with the name of the producer, title of the program, and the category for which it won. The Hometown Media Awards Celebration is held in summer at the ACM Annual Conference.


Read the Categories & Descriptions

Read (and follow) the Rules

Proceeds go to ACM Foundation which is exclusively used for facilitating, preserving and promoting education in community media.

2017 Hometown Media Awards

Eligible Entries – Programs entered must have had their first telecast on a local cable access channel or their initial stream/web distribution on or between January 1, 2016 and December 31, 2016.

Program/Entry submissions
January 23, 2017  – March 30, 2017 *Tip: Don’t wait until the last minute! Make your submission early.

Entry Fees
ACM Member – $50 per entry
Non-Member – $75 per entry
Student – $40 per entry

It is strongly recommended you read through the award categories and the rules before submitting a program.

After you have read the rules and know which category you want to enter, you are now ready to submit your entry. (link to come on entry date)

The 2017 Hometown Media Awards Celebration will be held during the 2017 ACM Annual Conference July 12 – 14 in Minneapolis, MN.

Winners of the Hometown Media Awards20750239356_6a9e8ed43d_m

2016 Hometown Media Award Winners

2015 Hometown Media Award Winners