Dirk Koning-George Stoney Award

The Dirk Koning – George Stoney Award is given annually to an organization or individual who has made an outstanding contribution to championing the growth and experience of humanistic community communications.

2016 Winner:

Senator Ed Markey (Massachusetts) was awarded the 2016 Dirk Koning-George Stoney Award. Throughout his career, Sen. Markey has been a champion for the consumer, a national leader on energy and environmental protection, and a strong advocate for a telecommunications policy that supports community media and legislation that strengthens its mission. Markey served in the U.S. House of Representatives for 37 years and has always fought for his constituents, including his strong advocacy for PEG Access. He served as the Chair or Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Telecommunications and the Internet for 20 years, where he fostered the growth of new information technologies and was the principal author of many of the laws now governing our nation’s telephone, broadcasting and cable television, wireless and broadband communications systems. Markey was elected U.S. Senator in 2013 and as a member of the Commerce, Science and Transportation Committee; he has become a national leader on telecommunications policy, technology and privacy. As a founder of the Nonproliferation Caucus, Sen. Markey continues to spearhead efforts to prevent the spread of nuclear weapons to safeguard the future of generations to come.

View the 2015 ACM Awards and Brian Wilson Scholarship Recipients

View the 2014 ACM Awards and Brian Wilson Scholarship Recipients