Buske Leadership Award

The Buske Leadership Award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated commitment to the mission and goals of the Alliance for Community Media, leadership within the organization within the last three years, a high degree of involvement in the organization nationally, regionally and at the chapter level, and continuing service to the ACM.

2017 Nominations are Open!

Download the 2017 ACM Awards Nomination Form which includes complete detail of criteria and requirements. Submissions due Friday, April 21.

Previous Years’ Winners

2016 Winner: Rob Brading, Metro East Media

Rob Brading (Oregon) was awarded the 2016 Buske Leadership Award for his demonstrated commitment to the mission and goals of the ACM and his leadership over the last three years, which included a high degree of involvement nationally, regionally, and at the chapter level, as well as his continuing service.

Since 1992, Brading has been the Chief Executive Officer at MetroEast Community Media, serving the east jurisdictions of the franchise area which includes the cities of Gresham, Troutdale, Wood Village, Fairview, and unincorporated Multnomah County. Brading has represented these jurisdictions at a national level through his service as the Public Policy Chair and National Board Chair of the Alliance for Community Media and as a Board Member of the Alliance for Communications Democracy. He has served in key leadership positions and his community involvement has been a critical component of continuing funding and political support. Brading brings heart and passion to all of his work and his contributions at the local, state and national levels on behalf of community media have been tremendous and impactful.

2016 – Rob Brading, Metro East Media
2015 – John Hauser, Access Humboldt
2014 – Antoine Haywood, Philadelphia Community Access Media (PhillyCAM)
2013 – Matt Schuster, TV Santa Barbara
2012 – Michael Wassenaar
2011 – Keri Stokstad, The Santa Barbara Channels
2010 – Colin Rhinesmith
2009 – Nancy Richard
2008 – Tom Bishop
2007 – Debra Rogers
2006 – Sean McLaughlin
2005 – Brian Wilson
2004 – Harry “Hap” Haasch
2003 – Ron Cooper, Access Sacramento
2002 – Eric Mollberg
2001 – John Donovan
2000 – Alan Bushong
1999 – Deb Vinsel
1998 – Steve Fortriede
1997 – Carl Kucharski
1996 – Hubert Jessup
1995 – Rika Welsh
1994 – Andrew Blau
1993 – Lynn Carillo-Cruse
1992 – Sharon Ingraham
1991 – Gerry Field
1990 – Chuck Sherwood
1989 – Dirk Koning
1988 – Jan Lesher Ireland
1987 – Sue Miller Buske