Board of Directors

About the Board

The primary objective of the ACM Board of Directors is to guide and provide input to the strategic direction of the Alliance for Community Media (ACM) and the Foundation of the Alliance for Community Media (F/ACM), and to help grow ACM’s capacity to do its work through networking and participation in fundraising activities.

The ACM Board of Directors is made up of all comers who are Individual or Organization Members of the ACM. Board Members may not be a paid staff member of the ACM.

Board members are expected to participate actively in board and committee meetings, be faithful ambassadors and communicators of the organization’s positions, contribute meaningfully to helping the organization achieve its fund and leadership development goals, and exercise proper fiduciary care.

2018 Board Summary of Responsibilities document is available for more information about the work and expected commitment of the individuals who run the board.

ACM Strategic Plan Draft 1.18

2018-2019 OFFICERS

Keith Thibault
Board Chair
Northeast Region Representative
Keith Thibault has served as Director of Fall River (MA) Community Media (FRCMedia) since July of 2000. Keith has worked in the community media field since 1994, first serving as Director of the New Bedford (MA) Public Access Television Station. Keith earned a Bachelor’s Degree in Communications/Media from Fitchburg State University (MA) in 1987. Keith served on the board of Mass Access from 1997-2015 and was chair from 2000-2004. Keith has been a member of the board of the Northeast Region of the ACM since 2004, serving as chair from 2004-2008.

Donna Keating

Nancy Richard

Mark Monk
Central States Region Representative

Mike Johnson
Mike Johnson is the Executive Director of Northwest Community Television/CCX Media which began operations in the 1980’s. The system serves nine cities in the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis with a combined population base of approximately 340,000 people. Mike reports to a 15 member board of directors and also serves as the Executive Director of the Northwest Suburbs Cable Communications Commission made up of 18 commission members.

Mike served as a board member of the National Association of Telecommunications Officers and Advisors and the Minnesota Association of Community Telecommunications Administrators. Mike has previously served elective office as a city council member and school board member and has spoken numerous times about community media at local, regional and national conferences.

Volunteer commitments include traveling to Washington DC several times in the spring and fall each year to help out with the Honor Flight Organization which enables veterans from all over the country to visit memorials at no charge. Mike has assisted with water delivery teams and orphanage visits on site in the country of Haiti and volunteers for Feed my Starving Children, a non-profit organization which provides ready to eat meals to nearly 70 countries in need.

Barbara Chisholm
IEE Representative
Barbara Chisholm has been involved in community media for over 25 years. She currently is the Executive Director of WACA TV.

She served on the original Board of Directors of WACA TV and held the position of Treasurer. Barbara joined the staff of WACA TV as the Operations Manager, a position held for 10 years. During that time, she has overseen a number of major projects while increasing programming and community involvement and awareness.

Barbara is proud to be a member of the ACM because it is a wonderful support system for community media centers across the country large and small assisting stations both educationally and legislatively.
Gary Martin
Chair of Regions & Western Region Rep
Gary Martin is the Executive Director for Access Sacramento, the non-profit public access cable station in Sacramento, CA.

Access Sacramento is best known for providing low-cost training and equipment resources from its radio and TV studios and digital media lab over nearly 30 years. Martin served eight years on the Board of Directors for Access Sacramento before being named Executive Director in 2013.

Previously, Martin was a college professor in TV/Film for two decades at Sacramento’s Cosumnes River College where he also served on the national board for the Broadcast Education Association for four years. Martin is an Emmy® award winning TV news producer whose original roots began in radio.

2018-2019 DIRECTORS

Michelle Alimoradi
Michelle Alimoradi is currently living in New York City and working as the Marketing Coordinator for Tightrope Media Systems, based in St. Paul, Minnesota.

She is passionate about fortifying community media outlets, independent journalism, grassroots social movements, and creative new media projects. She has been an active participant in national media coalitions including the ACM and the Allied Media Project.

Previously Michelle worked as a freelance Radio/TV producer in Minneapolis/St. Paul for many years, working primarily with KFAI Radio in Minneapolis and St. Paul Neighborhood Network in St. Paul.

Jon Funfar
Northwest Region Representative
Jon Funfar is Communications Program Manager for the City of Pasco, Washington. He manages Pasco City Television, the City of Pasco website, City social media, and City print publications.

Jon graduated from Pacific Lutheran University in Tacoma. A native to Enumclaw, Washington, he became the city's Media Services Manager in 2000 where he was introduced to the ACM in 2001 by attending a regional conference in Salem, OR and heard Dirk Koning speak and has been active in the ACM since that time. He has as also served as President and Secretary of WATOA, the state chapter of the National Association of Telecommunications Officers and Advisors (NATOA).

Jim Horwood
Legal Council
Jim Horwood has been in private practice with Spiegel & McDiarmidover for over 40 years of practice specializing in energy and communications law.

Jim advises local governments on all aspects of telecommunications. This includes connections with cable franchise renewal, franchise enforcement, and municipal ownership and operation of infrastructure. He also provides advice to organizations that manage access centers and to others interested in promoting the use of public, educational and governmental access.

Jim has served on the ACM's Board as Special Appointee – Legal Affairs since 1990.

Richard Turner
Mary Van Sickle
Midwest Region Representative
Mary Van Sickle has been the Executive Director of Dakota Media Access (DMA) since 2000. DMA is non-profit community media organization operating Community and Government Access Television channels,, KDAK 102.5 FM radio, the Dakota Digital Film Festival, and the Community Media & Training Center in Bismarck, ND.

Mary has previous work experience in marketing, non-profit management, and economic development. She currently serves on the Advisory Committees for Mass Communications at Bismarck State College and the Art Marketing Department at United Tribes Technical College.