Conference Grassroots Scholarship

We believe in the importance of cultivating leaders in community media: to train them, nourish them, and to encourage their growth. This is why we have set up the Grassroots Scholarship Fund. The Grassroots Scholarship Fund supports the travel and education costs for community media producers and staff who can’t typically afford professional development.

Nominations & Application

Could you, or a professional or student in the community media industry you know, use financial support towards community media education?

Every year, the Foundation of the Alliance for Community Media awards two scholarships to attend the Alliance for Community Media’s National Conference. Each Scholarship includes full conference registration and travel assistance of up to $500, and is awarded to applicants who may not otherwise be able to afford professional development opportunities.

Scholarship applicants must:
1. Be a Supporter, Individual, Organizational or Secondary member of ACM.
2. Complete this application in full.

Scholarship applicants MAY NOT be:
1. A sitting ACM or FACM National Board of Directors member or member of their family;
2. A member of the scholarship selection committee or member of their family; or
3. An ACM staff member or member of their family.

Applications are closed for the 2018 Grassroots Scholarship.

Help the Campaign

Your tax deductible gift will go directly to pay travel costs for scholarship fund recipients. They’ll be grateful for the opportunity to learn and network with other people in community media!

Donate online at:

Let’s grow those grassroots!  Help spread the word!

If you know of people who could benefit from a scholarship, young people in our field and/or folks from small communities or small centers around the country, please encourage them to apply for a scholarship.

If you know of people who could help support our scholarship, please share our Grassroots Scholarship information so we can help future leaders in our industry grow.

Previous Winners

2017 Winners

Ben Weddell,
Ben Weddell is fueled with passion for, a young station he helps operate. Weddell plans to engage in discussions of new ideas and possibilities at the 2017 Annual Conference. The knowledge he gains from his participation will help accelerate his station’s development to better serve its community.

Pam Haessly, Novato Community Television-NCTV
Pam Haessly is the Executive Director of Novato Community Television. Haessly has worked diligently to get her station back on its feet after unfortunate circumstances prompted the station to rebuild from the ground up in 2013. Haessly’s pride and passion of her station reflects its bright future.