Buske Leadership Award

The Buske Leadership Award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated commitment to the mission and goals of the Alliance for Community Media, leadership within the organization within the last three years, a high degree of involvement in the organization nationally, regionally and at the chapter level, and continuing service to the ACM.

The nominee must be an ACM member to qualify for this award.

2017 Winner: Ross Rowe, Village of Elk Grove Village

Ross currently serves as the Cable Production Coordinator at the Village of Elk Grove Village. He has an extensive background in community media and includes such positions as Cable Access TV Coordinator and Video Production Engineer at the Village of Mount Prospect, Illinois, Interim Program Director at WYCC PBS in Chicago, and former Television Services Manager at Access Fort Wayne in Indiana. Ross attended his very first Alliance for Community Media (then known as the NFLCP) national conference in 1980 and has been actively involved in the organization since. Ross is a former ACM National Board Member, Midwest Region representative to the national board, Central States Region board member and a founding member of the Michigan ACM chapter. He currently serves as the Vice Chair to the ACM Midwest Region Board of Directors. As a leader, Ross is open and authentic about the joys and challenges of community media and in creating conversations with people from across the nation. He creates and builds relationships with individuals, and is always willing to share and mentor. His commitment to the ACM and its mission is unwavering, and his institutional knowledge of the ACM, its members, and its history continues to be a valuable resource to our industry and community.

List of Winners by Year

2017 – Ross Rowe, Buske Leadership Award
2016 – Rob Brading, Metro East Media
2015 – John Hauser, Access Humboldt
2014 – Antoine Haywood, Philadelphia Community Access Media (PhillyCAM)
2013 – Matt Schuster, TV Santa Barbara
2012 – Michael Wassenaar
2011 – Keri Stokstad, The Santa Barbara Channels
2010 – Colin Rhinesmith
2009 – Nancy Richard
2008 – Tom Bishop
2007 – Debra Rogers
2006 – Sean McLaughlin
2005 – Brian Wilson
2004 – Harry “Hap” Haasch
2003 – Ron Cooper, Access Sacramento
2002 – Eric Mollberg
2001 – John Donovan
2000 – Alan Bushong
1999 – Deb Vinsel
1998 – Steve Fortriede
1997 – Carl Kucharski
1996 – Hubert Jessup
1995 – Rika Welsh
1994 – Andrew Blau
1993 – Lynn Carillo-Cruse
1992 – Sharon Ingraham
1991 – Gerry Field
1990 – Chuck Sherwood
1989 – Dirk Koning
1988 – Jan Lesher Ireland
1987 – Sue Miller Buske