Awards & Scholarships

We are now accepting nominations for the 2018 ACM Awards and Brian Wilson Scholarship. Fill out the 2018 ACM Awards Nomination Form to nominate yourself or someone else for any of the ACM Awards. Fill out the 2018 Brian Wilson Scholarship Form to nominate yourself or someone else for the Brian Wilson Scholarship. Nominations are due by 5:00 pm CT on Friday, February 16.

Click on each link below to find out more about the awards, including a list of past winners.

Emerging Leader Award
The Emerging Leader Award recognizes a professional, under 40 years of age, working in the field of community media, who demonstrates the values of building community through media on a consistent basis.  The individual demonstrates leadership in the field on a local, regional or national level. The award recognizes the individual for being a person who is innovative in their work to strengthen the impact of community media.

The Dirk Koning – George Stoney Award for Humanistic Communication
This award is given annually to an organization or individual who has made an outstanding contribution to championing the growth and experience of humanistic community communications.

The Buske Leadership Award
This award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated commitment to the mission and goals of the Alliance for Community Media, leadership within the organization within the last three years, a high degree of involvement in the organization nationally, regionally and at the chapter level, and continuing service to the ACM.

The Jewell Ryan-White Award for Cultural Diversity
This award is given annually to those persons who show an outstanding contribution to a process that encourages, facilitates, or creates culturally diverse and/or non-mainstream community involvement in the field of community media.

The Special Recognition Award
This award is presented for someones outstanding contributions to the community media industry. Most ACM awards are annual, but this award appears infrequently, when the Awards Committee wishes to recognize someone for their honorable work supporting community media.

Brian Wilson Scholarship
This scholarship is an annual offer to provide $1,000 in financial assistance by the Alliance for Community Media, promoting the values of former Board of Directors Chair Brian Wilson. The recipient will be an individual currently enrolled in an undergraduate or graduate degree granting program in media arts, broadcast journalism, community & public service, government administration, public education administration or teaching.

Each award and scholarship recipient will be honored at the Awards Luncheon held during the ACM’s  2017 Annual Conference in Minneapolis this July. A Conference Grassroots scholarship is available to help fund travel assistance to the conference. Visit the Grassroots Scholarship webpage for more information.

Contact Clair at with questions.

Do you know an outstanding professional in the community media industry who deserves proper recognition?  Or a student who could use financial support towards community media education? (or ARE YOU someone who fits this description?) Keep them in mind for the 2018 award nominations, which will begin mid March 2018.