Special Awards & Scholarships

ACM 2015 National Conference Grassroots Scholarship
The Alliance for Community Media will award two scholarships to our National Conference in Pasadena CA August 12-14. Awards will include full conference registration and travel assistance of up to $500. They will be awarded to applicants who may not otherwise be able to attend the National Conference, but have a demonstrated interest in leadership and building better practices in community media. Deadline for Applications is June 15, 2015. Get More Information and Apply Here.

ACM Awards
Each year the Foundation of the Alliance for Community Media grants several special awards and scholarships to individuals that have made a significant impact in community media. Click here for a list of our 2015 winners!

The Dirk Koning – George Stoney Award for Humanistic Communication
The George Stoney Award is given annually to an organization or individual who has made an outstanding contribution to championing the growth and experience of humanistic community communications.

The Buske Leadership Award
The Buske Leadership Award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated commitment to the mission and goals of the Alliance for Community Media, leadership within the organization within the last three years, a high degree of involvement in the organization nationally, regionally and at the chapter level, and continuing service to the ACM.

The Jewell Ryan-White Award for Cultural Diversity
The Jewell Ryan-White Award for Cultural Diversity is given annually to those persons who show an outstanding contribution to a process that encourages, facilitates, or creates culturally diverse and/or non-mainstream community involvement in the field of community media.

The Brian Wilson Scholarship

This scholarship of $1,000 is offered annually by the Alliance for Community Media to promote the values of former Board of Directors Chair Brian Wilson by providing financial support to an individual currently enrolled in an undergraduate or graduate degree granting program in media arts, broadcast journalism, community & public service, government administration, public education administration or teaching.

View the 2014 ACM Awards and Brian Wilson Scholarship Recipients.